SOLUTIONS4CCC Responding to COVID

17 September 2020
8:00am – 12:00pm  EST 
12:00 – 16:00 GMT

SOLUTIONS4CCC Responding to COVID

17 September 2020
8:00am – 12:00pm  EST 
/  12:00 – 16:00 GMT

The COVID pandemic is a pressing challenge to delivering Comprehensive Cleft Care (CCC), particularly in resource-constrained contexts.

Join multidisciplinary CCC leaders in Low & Middle-Income Countries (LMIC), their allies and supporters worldwide in an innovative, interactive and solution-focused discussion.  We will  chart a course toward ensuring that every child has access to local, timely cleft care — even amidst this pandemic.

If you are a cleft professional with an interest in CCC,  please apply to join us!

Note:  We seek to welcome a diverse range of multidisciplinary CCC professionals across LMIC contexts, as well as from their international allies. Be sure to apply early as space in this conference is limited!

The International NGO sponsors of the Circle of Cleft Professionals (CoCP) are proud to support this first virtual international CCC conference.

About the Virtual Conference

Starting with a dynamic plenary, registrants will then participate in two consecutive interactive roundtables focused upon documenting solutions for CCC during the pandemic. Each dialogue will be shaped by panelists who are actively implementing Comprehensive Cleft Care in a LMIC and moderated by an experienced global CCC leader. A formal document of promising practices and next steps will be created and circulated from each discussion. 

This space-limited event is expected to draw leaders from over 25 countries and many time zones. It is a morning / mid-day / or evening not to be missed! Please apply early for a place in this dialogue.

About the Virtual Conference

Starting with a dynamic plenary, registrants will then participate in two consecutive interactive roundtables focused upon documenting solutions for CCC during the pandemic. Each dialogue will be shaped by panelists who are actively implementing Comprehensive Cleft Care in a LMIC and moderated by an experienced global CCC leader. A formal document of promising practices and next steps will be created and circulated from each discussion. 

This space-limited event is expected to draw leaders from over 25 countries and many time zones. It is a morning/ mid-day / or evening not to be missed! Please apply early for a place in this dialogue.

Solutions4CCC Advisors

Solutions4CCC Advisors

Dr. Marina Campodonico

Dr. Marina Campodonico trained as a pediatric dentist at the Universidad de Chile and is a member of Fundación Gantz’s multidisciplinary CCC team. She is in-demand as a conference presenter and teacher and is co-author of a chapter in the book: Tratamiento interdisciplinario de las fisuras labio palatinas (Dr. Aljaro et. al. 2008).  Dr. Campodonico is a long-term partner in Transforming Faces’ capacity building work and a member of Smile Train’s South American Medical Advisory Council.

Dr. Mekonen Eshete

Dr. Mekonen Eshete is a Plastic & Reconstructive Surgeon and Associate Professor of Surgery at the Addis Ababa University School of Medicine. He serves as the leader of the Yekatit 12 Hospital and Medical College cleft lip and palate unit, Ethiopia’s only full comprehensive cleft care centre. His expertise is in clinical care, research and training. Dr. Mekonen is a long-time partner of Smile Train and Transforming Faces.

Dr. George Galiwango

Dr. George William Galiwango is the head of the Plastic and Reconstructive Surgery department at CoRSU Rehabilitation Hospital in Entebbe, Uganda. He completed his Higher Surgical Speciality Training in Plastic and Reconstructive Surgery with COSECSA and serves as a mentor and clinical educator to budding plastic surgeons across Uganda. For over 10 years, Dr. Galiwango has been a Smile Train partner cleft surgeon and senior leader within CoRSU’s Comprehensive Cleft Care team.

Dr. Felicity Mehendale

Felicity Vidya Mehendale is a Plastic, Reconstructive & Cleft Surgeon and leads the Global Cleft Research Programme, University of Edinburgh. She previously led the East of Scotland Cleft Service. She trained as a doctor and as a general surgeon in Mumbai, India followed by plastic surgery and cleft fellowships in the UK. She is Chair of Cleft 2022 and President of the International Confederation of Cleft Lip & Palate and Related Craniofacial Anomalies (ICCPCA). Her research includes applications of artificial intelligence (AI) to cleft outcomes, cleft epidemiology, perioperative and neonatal care protocols and equity of access to cleft care globally.

Prof. Roopa Nagarajan

Prof. Roopa Nagarajan is a Professor and Chairperson at the Dept. of Speech, Language and Hearing Sciences & Academic Officer, Sri Ramachandra Institute of Higher Education and Research, Chennai, India. She served as the Organizing Secretary of the 13th International Cleft Congress in Chennai, 2017 and is co-author of a book chapter entitled Cleft Palate Speech in the Majority World.  She is a longtime leader in both Smile Train and Transforming Faces’ CCC movements.

Dr. Debbie Sell

Debbie Sell is a Cleft Specialist Speech and Language Therapist & Senior Research Fellow in the Centre for Outcomes and Experience Research in Children’s Health, Illness and Disability (ORCHID) at Great Ormond Street Hospital, London, UK. She co-edited a book on Cleft Care in the Developing World, was a founder of a speech and language therapy training course in Sri Lanka and is a member of CLEFT – Bridging the Gap charity’s Research Steering Group. She is a founder and co-director of Speech@Home.

Applications are Now Open

Applications are Now Open

The conference registration costs for all cleft professionals in resource constrained-contexts have been generously covered by the NGO sponsors of the Circle of Cleft Professionals.  

CCC allies from the global north will be encouraged to contribute a registration fee of $25 CAD toward conference costs.  

We invite you to submit your application, starting August 4, 2020 at 8:00AM EST //12:00 GMT. The applications portal will close on August 14, 2020 at 6:00AM EST // 22:00 GMT

The interactive design of this conference necessitates that we limit the number of participants in each Roundtable. We will seek to ensure that the diversity of Comprehensive Cleft Care (CCC) professionals and Low and Middle Income Country (LMIC) contexts is reflected overall.

Applications submitted by the deadline of August 14th can expect to receive confirmation of their application status no later than August 21st. Timely submission of applications is helpful, but selection is not “first come, first served”. 

Conference Schedule

7:45AM EST / 11:45 GMT

Participant Check-in

8:00AM EST / 12:00 GMT

Plenary Webinar

8:40AM EST / 12:40 GMT

Break #1

8:50AM EST / 12:50 GMT

Roundtable #1

A)  CCC Outreach to Vulnerable Families

B)  Leveraging Technology for CCC Team-Building and Patient Care

C)  Implementing and Monitoring COVID Risk Management Procedures

D)  Caring for Your Team (and Yourself!) during the Pandemic

10:10AM EST / 14:10 GMT

Break #2

10:20AM EST / 14:20 GMT

Roundtable #2

A)  A Path Forward for Safe, Timely Palate Repairs

B)  Promising Approaches to Speech Therapy during COVID

C)  Resuming Safe In-Person Oral Health Care Amidst the Pandemic

D)  Newborn Nutrition and Social Support at a Distance

11:35AM EST / 15:35 GMT

Break #3

11:40AM EST / 15:40 GMT

Conference Wrap-up & Next Steps

12:00PM EST / 16:00 GMT

Conference Concludes

Conference Schedule

7:45AM EST / 11:45 GMT

Participant Check-in

8:00AM EST / 12:00 GMT

Plenary Webinar

8:40AM EST / 12:40 GMT

Break #1

8:50AM EST / 12:50 GMT

Roundtable #1

A)  CCC Outreach to Vulnerable Families

B)  Leveraging Technology for CCC Team-Building and Patient Care

C)  Implementing and Monitoring COVID Risk Management Procedures

D)  Caring for Your Team (and Yourself!) during the Pandemic

10:10AM EST / 14:10 GMT

Break #2

10:20AM EST / 14:20 GMT

Roundtable #2

A)  A Path Forward for Safe, Timely Palate Repairs

B)  Promising Approaches to Speech Therapy during COVID

C)  Resuming Safe In-Person Oral Health Care Amidst the Pandemic

D)  Newborn Nutrition and Social Support at a Distance

11:35AM EST / 15:35 GMT

Break #3

11:40AM EST / 15:40 GMT

Conference Wrap-up & Next Steps

12:00PM EST / 16:00 GMT

Conference Concludes

Presented by:

Join the Circle of Cleft Professionals

The CoCP is a worldwide network of cleft professionals and cleft charity leaders with an interest in promoting Comprehensive Cleft Care (CCC) in resource-constrained contexts.

Click to learn more.

Contact Us